What Is a Private Listing?
A private listing is password-protected–it can be viewed by guests who have a password issued by a host.
This setting is useful when you want to accept bookings only from specific guests, or when you want to make the listing viewable to a limited group of people first prior to publishing it to the public.
When publishing a private listing, the content of the listing/experience will be reviewed by us just like the normal listing.
How to Invite Guests to Your Private Events
When you set a listing as "Private", you can invite guests by sharing the link to the private listing and the password via messaging.
Guests who received the invitation can access the private listing by logging into helloaini.com > Clicking on the invitation link > Entering a password > and Clicking "Send" (See images below).
The guests will have to re-enter the password when they leave the private listing page inactive for a while.
↓ This is what the page looks like after clicking the invitation link.
Steps to Set Your Listing Private
- Open your browser and log in to helloaini.com
- Click on the icon for your account information (located in the upper right corner)
- If you are accessing from your PC, select "Dashboard". If you are accessing from an app, you can skip this step.
- Select "Host Menu"
- Go to "Manage Experiences"
- Click the experience you want to make private then click "Edit"
- Open the Advanced Settings tab to "Set the Private Listing Password"*
- Click "Publish"
*The password has to be half-width alphanumeric (半角数字 hankaku suuji, or English letters and numbers)
*The passwords for Private Listing can be added/deleted from "Edit" anytime.
Please check the status of the experience under Manage Experiences. Once setting it to Private is complete, it should show "Private Listing (限定公開中)".
Please Note: When a private listing is published, there will be no notification emails sent. Likewise, followers will not receive notifications when you add event dates, or you have extra openings to a full event due to cancellation.
Related Article: "How 'Favorite' and 'Follow' Work" (JP)
Changing an Existing Listing to a Private Listing
You can change the status of your existing listing to a private listing at any time. In this case, the settings will be carried over.
For example, if the listing was set as "Not Accepting Requests", then the settings will be preserved when you make the listing private as well. After publishing a private listing, please ensure that such settings are set to what you want and that event dates are registered.
Example 1: Changing a Listing with Bookings to a Private Listing
Even when some of the event dates are already booked, the listing can be changed to private. To do so, go to "Advanced Settings" > "Set the Private Listing Password" > then "Publish".
This modification can be useful when, for example, you have a fully booked event but want to invite one particular guest in addition. In this case, you can make the experience private, then increase the maximum number of guests for an event by one, then invite the guest you want to join the event by sending the link to the private listing and a password.
In this case, after making sure that the guest you invited booked the event, you may set it back to non-private and make the listing visible to the public again by going to "Advanced Settings" > "Remove the Private Listing Password" > then "Publish".
Example 2: Invite Specific Guests First as a Private Listing, Then Make It Open to the Public Later
You can invite and prompt certain users to book your events first by starting off as a private listing, then after confirming their bookings, you can set it back to non-private and make the listing visible to the public by going to "Advanced Settings" > "Remove the Private Listing Password" > then "Publish".
Private Listings Do Not Show up in Search Results
When a listing of an experience is set as private, it will not show up in search results, both within our system and the Google search engine. The only way to view the listing page is via the link paired with the password generated by the host.
On the Host's Profile Page
When you visit your own host's profile page, you will see all listings, including private ones. However, when other users access your profile page, all the private listings will not be displayed.